Trace ALPHA
In-/Outputs
  • 1 x Stereo Digital I/O (24/192)
  • 1 x Stereo Analog I/O (24/192)
  • 1 x CDROM digital S/PDIF (internal)
  • 3 x MIDI Output / 1 x MIDI Input
  • TDM-SyncBus
Technical Data
  • PCI 2.3 card, 32 Bit, 3.3V/5V
  • Sample formats: 8, 16, 20, 24, 32 Bit Mono/Stereo
  • Digital Input
  • 1 x S/PDIF RCA (cable adapter)
  • 1 x CDROM digital S/PDIF (internal)
  • Input voltage ex 0,2 Vss
  • Samplerates (variable): 32 kHz to 192 kHz
  • Digital Output
  • 1 x S/PDIF RCA (cable adapter)
  • Output level 0,5 Vss with 75 Ohm Last
  • galvanic isolated
  • Analog Input
  • 2 x 6,3 TRS jack, balanced
  • Impedance: 10 kOhm
  • Input level (adjustable):
    +18 dBu; +15 dBu; +8 dBu and -6 dBV for 0 dBFS
  • AD input leveling from -48 dB to +18 dB
  • SNR AD @ 192 kHz: 105 dB / 108 dB(A)
  • THD+N @ -3 dBFS: < 0,002 % / < -94 dB
  • Cross-talk attenuation: > 100 dB
  • Frequency response @ 48 kHz: -0,5 db 20 Hz to 22 kHz
  • Frequency response @ 96 kHz: -0,5 db 20 Hz to 44 kHz
  • Frequency response @192kHz: -1 db 20 Hz to 65 kHz
  • Analog Output
  • 2 x 6,3 TRS jack, balanced
  • Output impedance: 75 Ohm
  • Output level:
    +18 dBu; +8 dBu and -6 dBV for 0 dBFS
  • DA output leveling from -78 dB to 0 dB
  • SNR DA @ 96kHz: 113 dB(A)
  • THD+N @ -1 dBFS: < 0,001% / < -100 dB
  • Cross-talk attenuation: > 110 dB
  • Frequency response @ 48 kHz: -0,5 db 20 Hz to 22 kHz
  • Frequency response @ 96 kHz: -0,5 db 20 Hz to 44 kHz
  • Frequency response @192kHz: -1 db 20 Hz to 61 kHz
  • Synchronisation sources
  • Digital Input
  • Internal
  • TDM SyncBus
  • Master and Slave-Modus
Driver suite (Multiclient)
  • Windows™ 64 bit
    Windows™ XP/Vista/7/8/10
    Windows™ Server 2003/2008/2008.R2/2012
    WDM Audio, DirectSound, MME, ASIO 2.2, Advanced Multi-Client Support
  • Windows™ 32 bit
    Windows™ 2000/XP/Vista/7/8/10
    Windows™ Server 2003/2008
    WDM Audio, DirectSound, MME, ASIO 2.1, Advanced Multi-Client Support
  • Apple Mac OS X
    Core Audio
    Version 10.4 (Tiger)
    Version 10.5 (Leopard)
    Version 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
Extensions (external)

Overview

TRACE ALPHA is an audio/MIDI system, developed to meet highest demands on sound, latency, features and reliability.

The TRACE ALPHA provides one stereo analog input/output and one stereo digital input/output with up to 192 kHz as well as one alternative internal digital CD-ROM input. The compact PCI card includes also three MIDI-Outputs and one MIDI input with 16 channels each.

The main characteristic of the TRACE series is the newly developed high speed hardware architecture, which guarantees data transfers with ultra low latencies and practically without CPU load. The analog inputs and outputs provide balanced connectors and the elaborate analog converter technology ensures superb audio values with maximum dynamic - signal to noise ratio up to 113 dB(A) with a level of up to 18 dBu.

Besides the hardware integrated DSP mixer with Total Recall the Trace ALPHA provides the card-spanning TDM-Sync-Bus connecting several MARIAN cards to one synchronous main system and allowing the free routing of audio channels within all TRACE cards in this system.

Like every member of the TRACE-series, the Trace ALPHA is characterized by an easy installation and it`s steadily controlled high quality of manufacturing. Marian grants a five year warranty on every member of the TRACE family.

Uncompromising Audio quality

The new hardware design focus was on providing superlative audio performance and high resolution audio with sample rates up to 192 kHz. The analog inputs and outputs provide balanced connectors and the elaborate analog converter technology ensures superb audio values with maximum dynamic - signal to noise ratio up to 113 dB(A) with a level of up to 18 dBu.

High speed architecture

Innovative PCI- and DSP technologies enable ultra low latencies below one millisecond practically without CPU load - even when using all channels at the full bandwidth of up to 192 kHz! A TRACE system is the perfect partner for performance intense applications such as software instruments and complete audio in-the-box-productions.

DSP Mixer

The digital mixer - completely integrated in the TRACE hardware - operates with quick and flexible DSP functions allowing latency-free mixing of all signals to several stereo sums as well as the latency-free monitoring and routing of all inputs to all outputs. Thus perfect monitor mixes can be set up quickly and played back on any output. The mixer can be configured optically - all inputs/outputs and many mixer sections can be either shown or hidden. All audio-, routing- and layout settings are easy to save and load within session files (total recall).

The Mixer offers 20 channels (8 x internal Playback, 8 x TDM Input, 4 x physical Input) and - depending from the used samplerate - up to four individual stereo sums.

Output routing control: Independent from the mixer the systems provides six physical stereo outputs - two physical stereo outputs plus four stereo TDM busses. All outputs can be driven with the mixer stereo sums, 16 software playback channels (see below) or both physical stereo inputs. Multiple routings are of course possible.

Advanced Multiclient

The four channel TRACE ALPHA presents itself as a 16-channel-device! The mixer provides eight channels (4 x stereo) for playback of any type of audio software. The output routing control adds another eight channels (4 x stereo) playback devices. Thus e.g. two or more software sequencer , -sampler, synthesizer or media player can run with parallel multiclient handling at the same time without any device conflicts at all.

TDM SyncBus

Using the hardware based TDM-SyncBus up to four different MARIAN audio systems can be connected to one synchronous main system, in which not only the same digital clock, but also absolute start/stop synchronization of all connected inputs/outputs is ensured. The TDM SyncBus spanning all installed cards enables the free routing of up to eight channels for all included TRACE systems. This makes single channels or complete sub-mixes available for other members of the main system. A TRACE multicard system with inputs- and outputs of any type - analog or digital - can thereby be used as router, patchbay, converter or splitter. Typical usage: Connecting an external reverb and/or effect units to one card making it available to all other cards. Start a modular system with a single TRACE ALPHA and add later other TRACE cards with different types of I/Os - e.g. up to 24 analog I/Os with three TRACE 8 or four AES/EBU I/Os with a TRACE D4 to integrate external digital effect units to your DAW.

High speed driver suite (with Advanced Multiclient)

The TRACE Alpha provides a complete driver suite for Microsoft Windows and Apple Mac Os X. The continuosly improved, multi client enabled drivers for ASIO 2.0, GSIF 2, MME, WDM (Kernel-Streaming and non-emulated DirectSound) guarantee ultra low latencies for all software enviroments. The clear and handy driver dialogues ensure the display of all inputs and outputs as well as the adjustment of many parameters (e.g. exact levelling and flexible monitoring). A special status display allows the visual control of the current clock adjustments.

More Information
Marian Technologies
  • MARIAN TRACE Highspeed Hardware Architecture
  • Ultra Low Latency Design (CPU Transfer Relief)
  • HighSpeed Driver/Advanced MultiClient
  • MARIAN TDM SyncBus (Modular MultiCard Design)
  • Integrated Hardware DSP Mixer (Total Recall)
  • Start/Stop Synchronisation of all channels
  • Zero Latency Monitoring
  • Realtime Hardware Level Meters
  • Hardware Pitch
  • MARIAN Digital Status Display
  • DAT Marker support
  • MIDI Stream Optimization
  • MIDI Filter (config.)
Pictures
German website german website News | Products | Downloads | Shop/Sales | Support/Forum | About Us | Imprint | Terms & Conditions

Trace ALPHA
In-/Outputs
  • 1 x Stereo Digital I/O (24/192)
  • 1 x Stereo Analog I/O (24/192)
  • 1 x CDROM digital S/PDIF (intern)
  • 3 x MIDI Output / 1 x MIDI Input
  • TDM-SyncBus
Technische Daten
  • PCI 2.3 Karte, 32 Bit, 3.3V/5V
  • Sampleformate: 8, 16, 20, 24, 32 Bit Mono/Stereo
  • Digitaler Eingang
  • 1 x S/PDIF Cinch über Kabeladapter
  • 1 x CDROM digital S/PDIF (intern)
  • Eingangsspannung ab 0,2 Vss
  • Samplefrequenz (Lockbereich): 32 kHz bis 192 kHz
  • Digitaler Ausgang
  • 1 x S/PDIF Cinch über Kabeladapter
  • Ausgangsspannung 0,5 Vss an 75 Ohm Last
  • galvanisch entkoppelt
  • Analoger Eingang
  • 2 x 6,3 mm TRS Klinkenbuchse, symmetrisch
  • Impedanz: 10 kOhm
  • Pegel:
    +18 dBu; +15 dBu; +8 dBu und -6 dBV für 0 dBFS
  • AD Eingangsregelung von -48 dB auf +18 dB
  • SNR AD @ 192 kHz: 105 dB / 108 dB(A)
  • THD+N @ -3 dBFS: < 0,002 % / < -94 dB
  • Übersprechdämpfung: > 100 dB
  • Frequenzgang @ 48 kHz: -0,5 db 20 Hz bis 22 kHz
  • Frequenzgang @ 96 kHz: -0,5 db 20 Hz bis 44 kHz
  • Frequenzgang @192kHz: -1 db 20 Hz bis 65 kHz
  • Analoger Ausgang
  • 2 x 6,3 mm TRS Klinkenbuchse, symmetrisch
  • Ausgangsimpedanz: 75 Ohm
  • Pegel:
    +18 dBu; +8 dBu und -6 dBV bei 0 dBFS
  • DA Ausgangsregelung von -78 dB auf 0 dB
  • SNR DA @ 96kHz: 113 dB(A)
  • THD+N @ -1 dBFS: < 0,001% / < -100 dB
  • Übersprechdämpfung: > 110 dB
  • Frequenzgang @ 48 kHz: -0,5 db 20 Hz bis 22 kHz
  • Frequenzgang @ 96 kHz: -0,5 db 20 Hz bis 44 kHz
  • Frequenzgang @192kHz: -1 db 20 Hz bis 61 kHz
  • Synchronisationsquellen
  • Digital-Input
  • Intern
  • TDM-SyncBus
  • Master bzw. Slave-Modus
Treiber-Suite (Multiclient)
  • Windows™ 64 bit
    Windows™ XP/Vista/7/8/10
    Windows™ Server 2003/2008/2008.R2/2012
    WDM Audio, DirectSound, MME, ASIO 2.2, Advanced Multi-Client Support
  • Windows™ 32 bit
    Windows™ 2000/XP/Vista/7/8/10
    Windows™ Server 2003/2008
    WDM Audio, DirectSound, MME, ASIO 2.1, Advanced Multi-Client Support
  • Apple Mac OS X
    Core Audio
    Version 10.4 (Tiger)
    Version 10.5 (Leopard)
    Version 10.6 (Snow Leopard)
Optionale Erweiterungen
Presse-Feedback

Die BEAT (02/07) lobt die Low-Latency-Treiber, DSP-Mixer mit Total Recall und Klangqualität zum fairen Preis.
Vollständiger Testbericht als PDF

Überblick

Die TRACE ALPHA ist ein preisgünstiges Audio- / MIDI-System für höchste Ansprüche an Klang, Latenz, Ausstattung und Zuverlässigkeit.

Die PCI-Karte stellt je einen analogen und digitalen Stereo-I/O mit 24 Bit und 192 kHz zur Verfügung.

Hinzu kommt ein alternativ verwendbarer, interner Digitaleingang. Die Ausstattung wird durch drei MIDI-Ausgänge und einen MIDI-Eingang komplettiert.

Das Hardware-Design ist ganz auf überragende Audiowerte und High-Resolution-Audio mit Sampleraten von bis zu 192 kHz ausgerichtet. Die analogen Ein- und Ausgänge erreichen durch den Einsatz neuester Wandler und eine aufwändig gestaltete Technologie hervorragende SNR-Werte von bis zu 113 dB(A). Ein- und Ausgänge sind als symmetrische 6,3-mm-Klinkenbuchsen, direkt auf der Karte, ausgeführt und gewährleisten mit Pegeln von bis zu 18 dBu den Einsatz in jeder Studio-Umgebung.

Die neu entwickelte Highspeed-Hardware-Architektur, ermöglicht Datentransfers mit geringsten Latenzen (bis 0,5 ms) praktisch ohne CPU-Belastung. Zur Ausstattung gehören neben dem vollständig in die Hardware integrierten DSP-Mixer mit Total Recall der kartenübergreifende TDM-Sync-Bus, der neben der synchronen Verkoppelung mehrerer MARIAN-Systeme das freie Routing von Audio-kanälen für alle TRACE-Systeme im gesamten Verbund ermöglicht.

Wie jedes Mitglied der TRACE-Serie, zeichnet sich auch die TRACE ALPHA durch eine einfache Installation und eine stetig kontrollierte, hohe Verarbeitungsqualität aus. MARIAN gewährt eine Garantie von 5 Jahren.

Kompromisslose Audio-Qualität

Das Hardware-Design wurde speziell auf überragende Audiowerte und die nahezu latenzfreie Übertragung von High-Resolution-Formaten ausgerichtet. Die analogen Ein- und Ausgänge verfügen über symmetrische Klinken-Anschlüsse und erreichen hervorragende SNR-Werte von bis zu 113 dB(A) mit Pegeln von bis zu 18 dBu.

Highspeed-Architektur

Speziell entwickelte PCI- und DSP-Technologien ermöglichen ultrakurze Latenzzeiten von bis zu unter einer Millisekunde praktisch ohne CPU-Belastung - auch bei der Nutzung aller Kanäle mit Sampleraten von bis zu 192 kHz! Ein TRACE-System wird damit zum idealen Partner für alle leistungsintensiven Übertragungen, Softwareinstrumente, natives Realtime-Mixing und komplette In-the-Box-Produktionen.

DSP-Mixer

Der vollständig in die Hardware integrierte Digital-Mixer arbeitet mit schnellen und flexiblen DSP-Funktionen und ermöglicht die latenzfreie Mischung aller Signale auf mehrere Stereo-Summen sowie das latenzfreie Monitoring und Routing aller Eingänge auf alle Ausgänge. Damit können z. B. sehr schnell perfekte Monitor-Mixes erstellt und auf beliebigen Ausgängen ausgegeben werden. Der Mixer ist optisch konfigurierbar - alle I/Os und viele Mixer-Sektionen können wahlweise angezeigt oder ausgeblendet werden. Audio- und Layouteinstellungen können in Snapshots und Session-Dateien gespeichert und wieder geladen werden (Total-Recall).

Der Mixer bietet insgesamt 20 Kanäle (8 x Play intern, 8 x TDM-Input, 4 x physikalischer Input), die abhängig von der verwendeten Samplerate auf bis zu vier individuelle Stereo-Summenkanäle gemischt werden können.

Das Audiosystem verfügt darüber hinaus über insgesamt sechs physikalische Stereo-Ausgänge, die in einer separaten "Ausgangssteuerung" verwaltet werden. Dabei handelt es sich um die beiden physikalischen Stereo-Outputs sowie die vier Stereo-Ausgänge des TDM-Busses. Auf diese Ausgänge können die Stereo-Summen des Mixers, insgesamt 16 Play-Kanäle und die beiden physikalischen Stereo-Eingänge geroutet werden, wobei Mehrfachzuweisungen möglich sind.

Advanced Multiclient-Fähigkeiten

Der Mixer stellt insgesamt acht Kanäle (4 x Stereo) für die Wiedergabefunktion von beliebiger Audiosoftware zur Verfügung. In der Ausgangssteuerung stehen weitere vier Stereo-Kanäle für einen parallelen Multiclient-Betrieb zur Verfügung. Die TRACE ALPHA erscheint so für jede Audiosoftware als 16-kanaliges Audio-Gerät. Durch Verteilung dieser Kanäle auf unterschiedliche Audioprogramme können beispielsweise zwei oder mehr Software-Sequenzer, -Sampler, -Synthesizer oder Media-Player gleichzeitig auf einem System betrieben werden, ohne dass es zu Device-Konflikten kommt.

TDM-Sync-Bus

Bis zu vier TRACE- und MARC-Audiosysteme können über den hardwareseitigen TDM-Sync-Bus zu einem synchronen Gesamtsystem verkoppelt werden, in dem nicht nur die gleiche Wordclock, sondern auch die sampleexakte Start/Stop-Synchronisation aller angeschlossenen I/Os sichergestellt ist. Auf diese Weise können beispielsweise vier TRACE-Systeme zu einem Verbund mit insgesamt 64 Kanälen - komplett in 192 kHz - geschlossen werden. Erforderlich ist lediglich ein SyncBus-Kabel.

Der kartenübergreifende TDM-Sync-Bus ermöglicht zudem ein freies Routing von bis zu acht Audiokanälen für alle installierten TRACE-Systeme. Damit können einzelne Kanäle oder komplette Sub-Mixes anderen TRACE-Systemen zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Ein TRACE-Verbund mit Ein- und Ausgängen jeden Typs - analog oder digital - kann so als Router, Patchbay, Konverter oder Splitter fungieren, bei dem z. B. externe Effektgeräte mit Zero-Latency an eine Karte zur Nutzung für alle anderen Karten angeschlossen werden. Damit wird letztlich ein vollwertiges modulares Audiosystem möglich, in dem beliebige I/Os miteinander kombiniert werden können. So kann man beispielsweise zunächst mit einem einzigen TRACE-System und einem analogen Stereo I/O beginnen und später Eingänge jedes Typs hinzukaufen. Eine TRACE ALPHA kann beispielsweise mit einer TRACE 8 um acht analoge I/Os und einer TRACE D4 um vier Stereo-AES/EBU-I/Os - ideal für externe Effektgeräte - erweitert werden. Dabei bleibt noch Raum für eine weitere Karte!

Treiber-Suite

Jedes TRACE-Audiosystem verfügt über eine komplette Treiber-Ausstattung für Windows XP/2000.

Die ständig verbesserten und erweiterten MultiClient-Treiber für ASIO, GSIF 2, WDM mit Kernel-Streaming und echtem, nicht emuliertem DirectSound-Support, liefern minimalste Latenzwerte in allen Software-Umgebungen. Übersichtliche Treiberdialoge ermöglichen die Anzeige aller Ein- und Ausgänge, sowie die Manipulation vielfältiger Parameter. Hierzu zählen z. B. exakte Pegelanzeigen, flexibles Monitoring und Synchronisations-Einstellungen. Ein spezielles Status-Display erlaubt die visuelle Kontrolle über die aktuellen Clock-Einstellungen.

Weitere Informationen
Marian Technologien
  • MARIAN TRACE Highspeed Hardware-Architektur
  • Ultra Low Latency Design (CPU-Transfer-Entlastung)
  • HighSpeed-Treiber/MultiClient
  • MARIAN TDM-SyncBus (Modular MultiCard Design)
  • Integrierter Hardware-DSP-Mixer (Total Recall)
  • Advanced Multiclient
  • Start-/Stop-Synchronisation aller Kanäle
  • Zero-Latency-Monitoring
  • Realtime Hardware Level Meters
  • Hardware-Pitch
  • MARIAN Digital Status Display
  • Support für DAT-Marker
  • MIDI-Stream-Optimierung
  • MIDI-Filter (konfigurierbar)
Abbildungen
englische Webseiteenglish website News | Produkte | Downloads | Shop/Bezugsquellen | Support | Über Uns | Impressum | AGB